Full Nominees For Headies 2020


On 4 December, the nominees for the 2020 Headies in Nigeria were unveiled.

The nominees for the 2020 Headies in Nigeria were unveiled on 4 December.

Full Nominees For Headies 2020

Founded by the Hip Hop World Magazine in 2006, the event, which is in its 14th edition, recognises outstanding musicians and music professionals in the country’s entertainment industry.

According to a report by Music In Africa, this year’s awards will reward works released between July 2019 and September 2020. In addition to the existing 29 categories, the organisers have introduced the Songwriter of the Year category to “bring to the limelight hardworking individuals who have all significantly supported the creation of quality music.”

Fireboy DML leads the nominations with nine nods including Best Recording of the Year, Best R&B Album, Best Pop Album, Album of the Year and the Headies Viewer’s Choice Award. Davido and Wurld came in next with seven nominations each, while Burna Boy, the reigning Artist of the Year, secured six nominations.

Other nominees are Simi with five nods, DJ Neptune with four, and Wizkid whose nominations include Best Recording of the Year and Best Song of the Year. Tems, Omah Lay, Oxlade and Bella Shmurda are in the running for the keenly contested Next Rated Award. Previous winners of that trophy include Rema, Davido, Mr Eazi, Wizkid and Asa. Olakira, Alpha P, JomoPyper, Zinoleesky and Bad Boy Timz will compete for the Rookie of the Year Award.

Full Nominees For Headies 2020
Fireboy DML

Rapper A-Q will be looking to defend his Lyricist on the Roll title against MI Abaga and Illbliss, both of whom have won the trophy in the past, as well as Phenom and Phyno.

Meanwhile, Timaya and rapper and activist Eedris Abdulkareem will receive special recognition awards for their impact on the industry. The main event will also see highlife legend King Sunny Ade inducted into the Headies Hall of Fame.

This year’s Headies will be held virtually. The date for the main event is expected to be released soon.

Full Nominees For Headies 2020

Checkout the full list of nominees below:

Best Recording of the Year

Ozymandias – Brymo
Smile – Wizkid ft. H.E.R
Wonderful – Burna Boy
Dreamer – Fireboy DML
Ghost Town – Wurld

Best Pop Single

Billionaire – Teni
Nobody – DJ Neptune Feat. Joeboy and Mr Eazi
Lady – Rema
Fem – Davido
Joro – Wizkid
Skeletun – Tekno

Song of the Year

Fem – Davido
Nobody – DJ Neptune Feat. Joeboy and Mr Eazi
Joro – Wizkid
Mafo – Naira Marley
Duduke – Simi

Producer of the Year

Pheelz – ‘Billionaire’ by Teni
Spax – ‘Away’ by Oxlade
Kel P – ‘Pull Up’ by Burna Boy
Sarz – ‘Mad’ By Sarz and Wurld

Best Rap Album

God’s Engineering – A-Q
Illy Chapo X – Illbliss
YPSZN2 – Psycho YP
Cult! – Paybac Iboro
The Erigma II – Erigga

Best R&B Album

Laughter, Tears and Goosebumps – Fireboy DML
I Like Girls With Trobul – Sarz & Wurld
King – Praiz
Boo of the Booless – Chike
Celia – Tiwa Savage

Best Alternative Album

Yellow – Brymo
Lucid – Asa
The Light – Bez
Pioneers – DRB Lasgidi
Roots – The Cavemen

Best Pop Album

Apollo – Fireboy DML
African Giant – Burna Boy
A Good Time – Davido
Woman of Steel – Yemi Alade
Afro Pop Vol. 1 – Adekunle Gold

Best Music Video

Eli – Fireboy DML
1 Milli – Davido
Smile – Wizkid
Billionaire – Teni
Shekere – Yemi Alade

Best R&B Single

Under the Sky – Praiz
Duduke – Simi
Mad – Sarz & Wurld
Bad Influence – Omah Lay
Tattoo – Fireboy DML
Dangerous Love – Tiwa Savage

Best Collaboration

Know You – Ladipoe ft. Simi
Nobody – DJ Neptune ft. Joeboy and Mr. Eazi
Sweet In the Middle – Davido ft. Naira Marley, Zlatan and Wurld
Don’t Call Me Back – Joeboy ft. Mayorkun
Totori – ID Cabasa Feat. Wizkid and Olamide
Get the Info – Phyno ft. Phenom and Falz

Best Rap Single

OGB4IG – Reminisce
Shut Up – Blaqbonez
Country – Illbliss
Get The Info – Phyno, Falz and Phenom
Bop Daddy – Falz ft. Ms. Banks

Best Vocal Performance (Male)

Ghost Town – Wurld
Forgive– Chike
Under the Sky – Praiz
Plenti – Cobhams
What Makes You Sure – Nonso Amadi
Count On You – Johnny Drille

Best Vocal Performance (Female)

No Longer Beneficial – Simi
One on the Outside – Lindsey Abudei
Addicted – Niniola
Chi Efo – J-Dess
Lai Lai – Yemi Alade
Ajala – Imanse

Next Rated

Omah Lay
Bella Shmurda

Headies Revelation

Victor AD
Fireboy DML

Lyricist on the Roll

MI Abaga – Trinity

Best Street-hop Artist

Naira Marley and Young John Mayorkun – Geng
Reminisce ft. Olamide and Naira Marley – Instagram
Rudeboy – Audio Money
IVD and Zlatan – Bolanle
Olamide – Pawon

Best ‘Alternative’ Song

Corner – Lady Donly ft. VanJess & The Cavemen
I Wonder – Moelogo
Bitter – Deena Ade
Anita – The Cavemen
Money Devotion – Gbasky
God Save The Queen – Olu

Album of the Year

African Giant – Burna Boy
Apollo – Fireboy DML
Afro Pop Vol. 1 – Adekunle Gold
Yellow – Brymo
Boo of the Booless – Chike

Artist of the Year

Burna Boy
Tiwa Savage

African Artist Recognition

Master KG
Kuami Eugene
Sauti Sol
Shatta Wale

Headies’ Viewer’s Choice

Omah Lay
Burna Boy
Fireboy DML
DJ Neptune

Rookie of the Year

Alpha P
Bad Boy Timz

Songwriter of the Year

Simisola Bolatito Ogunleye (Simi – Duduke)
Adedamola Adefolahan (Fireboy DML – Dreamer)
Damini Ogulu (Burna Boy – Way Too Big)
Stanley Omah Didia (Omah Lay – Bad Influence)
Sadiq Onifade (Wurld – Ghost Town)
Adekunle Kosoko (1 Million – Davido)

Special Recognition

Eedris Abdulkareem

Hall of Fame

King Sunny Ade