AFCON 2021: Super Eagles Face Egypt, Others


Super Eagles is set to face Egypt, others in AFCON 2021.

Super Eagles face Egypt, others in AFCON 2021

The Super Eagles will battle Egypt, Sudan and Guinea Bissau at the AFCON 2021 holding in Cameroon from January 9-February 6, 2022.

The Eagles were paired in Group D for the tournament during the draw on Tuesday evening in Yaounde.

CAF President, Dr Patrice Motsepe witnessed the event alongside the COCAN President and Minister of Sports of Cameroon, Prof. Narcisse Mouelle Kombi witnessed the draw.

The 24 qualified teams were divided into six groups of four.

The opening match will see tournament host and five-time Africa Cup of Nations winners Cameroon play against Burkina Faso, runners-up of 2013 AFCON.

ALSO READ:  The Five Countries That Have Qualified For AFCON 2022 (Photos)

Nigeria features in Group D where it is pitched against Egypt.

Below is the list of AFCON 2021 groups:

Group A: Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopie, Cape Verde

Group B: Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinee, Malawi

Group C: Morocco, Ghana, Comoros, Gabon

Group D: Nigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau

Group E: Algeria, Sierra-Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Côte d’Ivoire

Group F: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia.