Full Fixtures: Draw For The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023


Draw For The FIFA Women's World Cup 2023

Below are the full fixtures for the draw for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023.

The draw for the 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand is in and it has not been kind to the Matildas.

The Matildas have been drawn into Group B alongside Ireland, Canada and Nigeria, close to the worst-possible result from the draw and described by Heather Garriock as the “Group of Death”.

Canada is the reigning Olympic champions and recently beat the Matildas in back-to-back games last month down under despite an understrength squad. They are the highest-ranked opponent (seventh) Australia could have drawn from their pot.

The Republic of Ireland were the third-highest ranked team in their pot (24th), but beat the Matildas last year.

The final opponent, Nigeria, were the highest-ranked team in their pot (45th), are the most successful team in African history, having won the last three Africa Women’s Cup of Nations titles before losing it this year.

“Obviously the teams are tough,” Matildas and Arsenal star Steph Catley told Optus Sport.

“Ireland is tricky, we just watched them in a few playoff games and they played really well, defended really well. Canada just won the Olympics and Nigeria has some incredible players too and African teams are really tough to play at major tournaments.

“It’s a tough group but if you want to win, you’ve got to beat everyone. I think obviously Canada is really tough. We played them recently.

“We didn’t have a full squad but they have great players who play in some of the best leagues in the world. That’s one we’ll definitely look at early in terms of our preparation.”

Looking past the group stage, the Matildas have also copped a tough road to glory on home soil.

If the Matildas finish first in Group B, they will face the runner-up from Group D. If the Matildas finish second in Group B, they will face the winner from that group. But Group D includes two brutal possible opponents in England and Denmark.

Australia will host the showpiece tournament alongside New Zealand, where the official draw took place in Auckland with hundreds of famous faces including Kiwi Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern.

New Zealand will host the opening match of the tournament, against heavyweights Norway. The, on July 20 at Sydney Football Stadium, the Matildas will face Republic of Ireland in their first match.

In other notable matches, two-time reigning champions the USA have been drawn against the Netherlands in a rematch of the 2019 World Cup final.

Group A

New Zealand




Group B


Republic of Ireland



Group C


Costa Rica



Group D


Group B Play-off winner



Group E




Group A Play-off winner

Group F




Group C Play-off Winner

Group G


South Africa



Group H




Korea Republic


Australia vs Republic of Ireland, Sydney Football Stadium, July 20, 2023

Australia vs Nigeria, Brisbane Stadium, July 27, 2023

Canada vs Australia, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium, July 31, 2023

Performers take part in the opening of the football draw ceremony for the Australia and New Zealand 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup at the Aotea Centre in Auckland on October 22, 2022.

First off, there are 32 teams in the World Cup for the first time, who will be drawn out of four ‘pots’ based on FIFA rankings to create the four-team groups.

The elimination tournament is divided into three groups:

Group A: Cameroon, Thailand, Portugal

Group B: Senegal, Haiti, Chile

Group C: Chinese Taipei, Paraguay, Papua New Guinea, Panama

Each of those groups will be represented by a placeholder in pot four in today’s draw, meaning those sides will know their World Cup destiny should they qualify.

To make things a little more complex (and since the winners of the groups haven’t been decided yet), FIFA will treat Group A’s placeholder as a European team, Group B as a South American Team, and Group C as an Asian/Oceanian team.

That just means that the Matildas and NZ can’t be drawn with the Group C winner.


Pot one: New Zealand (FIFA ranking 22), Australia (13), United States (1), Sweden (2), Germany (3), England (4), France (5), Spain (6)

Pot two: Canada (7), Netherlands [8],
Brazil (9), Japan (11), Norway (12), Italy (14), China (15), South Korea (17)

Pot three: Denmark (18), Switzerland (21), Republic of Ireland (24), Colombia (27), Argentina (29), Vietnam (34), Costa Rica (37), Jamaica (43)

Pot four: Nigeria (45), Philippines (53), South Africa (54), Morocco (76), Zambia (81), playoff Group A winners (Cameroon, Thailand or Portugal), playoff Group B winners (Senegal, Haiti or Chile), playoff Group C winners (Chinese Taipei, Paraguay, Papua New Guinea or Panama).

Draw For The FIFA Women's World Cup 2023